Antique lighting  Elmwood
                      Village Inn
 Gracious
                          hospitality, steps from galleries, boutiques,
                          and dining.



893 Elmwood Avenue

Buffalo, New York 14222
Telephone 1.716.886.2397
 HOME    ACCOMMODATIONS    REVIEWS    DIRECTIONS    CONTACT US    NEIGHBORHOOD RESERVATIONS








Reviews


A sampling of what guests have told us about the Elmwood Village Inn: Honu House.

Exterior view of the
                              Elmwood Village Inn."Redefines B&B excellence."

"Sophisticated city inn..."

"This is the loveliest B&B I've ever seen!"

"Classy with an edge, highly recommended!"

"Didn't want to leave!"

Please scroll down to read more!

Links to reviews on independent websites appear at right.

          Check availability and make reservations.

Important!  External lodging websites often don't have up-to-date information.
Please rely on the Inn's website for current rates, policies, amenities, and availability.


Read reviews of the Inn at these external websites:


"Hello from Buffalo: A Penchant for the Arts and Social Justice at the Elmwood Village Inn"

Read this story (with video) about the Inn at the Travel and Transitions site.


Would you like to add your comments? Please send them to the Inn via our Contact Us page. Thanks!

"Wonderful!"    Reviewed on TripAdvisor.com on 8/11/09.

The Elmwood Village Inn is far from your typical B&B and that's what makes it so wonderful! The host, the decor, the rooms, the neighborhood and OH THE BATHROOMS! Just beautiful! Karen is amazing and she did a great job renovating the home.



“This is the loveliest B&B I've ever seen!”    Reviewed on TripAdvisor.com on 9/27/11.

This is a beautifully furnished and run Inn right in the middle of the lovely Elmwood Village neighborhood, within walking distance of excellent restaurants, art, coffee, shops and street life. Karen, the owner, is very helpful, gives great recommendations and bakes delicious muffins, too! Our room was lovely and the bathroom was luxurious.....



"Redefines B&B excellence."    Reviewed on TripAdvisor.com on 8/15/11.
 
Finding this near-perfect gem is one of the reasons I love TripAdvisor. Seeing Honu House as the clear top-rated Buffalo B&B gave me hope that I might avoid a chain or a boutique "wanna be" while overnighting in Buffalo. Wow - what a payoff.

What you need to know is that for any seasoned traveler this is a 5-star experience. As described elsewhere, the decor is eclectic - and to me that can sometimes be less than ideal. Here it works masterfully.

The house flows well and the common areas are amazing. The interplay of rugs, original art, tasteful/functional furniture and the "great bones" of this house work on every level. The placement of mirrors, the massive original doors and trim, the outstanding paint colors, the beds and bedding--all are extraordinary. There have been few times in my (far too) frequent travels that I've wanted to extend my stay just to spend more time in the accommodations--this is among those rare places.

Other plusses include being fairly close to the airport and this must be one of the most interesting and fun parts of Buffalo. One night in the Honu House will change the way you think of Buffalo and of B&Bs--it did for me anyway. I wish I needed to travel more often to Buffalo. Better yet, I wish she would open a chain of Honu Houses in other cities!



"Great B&B in great neighborhood."    Reviewed on TripAdvisor.com on 7/14/11.

What a wonderful place to stay in Buffalo. The Honu House is exactly what I look for in a B&B. It was comfortable, clean and in a perfect location. Karen, the owner, quickly learned of our enthusiasm for the city of Buffalo and offered many good ideas about things we might enjoy. We could walk to many of them because we were in the center of Elmwood Village.

One evening we walked to the symphony performing outdoors on Bidwell Parkway, and it was a short ride to Shakespeare in the Park. We looked forward to our morning walks in the beautiful neighborhood. Our room at the Honu House was actually a small attic apartment, complete with kitchen. We chose to make our own breakfast in the morning, an alternative we were glad to have. Our suite was comfortable and very up to date. We hope the Honu House and our special room will be available every time we visit Buffalo.



"Warm and inviting."

On our last couple of visits to the Buff we've had the pleasure of staying at the Elmwood Village Inn and have enjoyed them thoroughly! Karen is a delight. The place itself is warm and inviting.

And the rooms (we've been in 2 different) are fantastic. It's a great place with a good vibe and really positive ju-ju. And now, I am really lovin' the new paint.

Karen - Theresa and I send our love!


"A spectacular place to stay."

This is a spectacular place to stay. I stayed with family in the 3rd floor apartment suite. You can not ask for anything better. It is a beautiful home that is decorated with incredible sophistication. There is a continental breakfast served by the way.


"Way to go Karen. Congratulations on the new paint job. I look forward to getting a room there again soon."


"Refreshingly lovely..."    Reviewed by aYahoo! contributor on 08/11/09.

Karen (owner) is an absolute gem!!  Rare and unique indeed. I would only be so lucky to have another opportunity to be able to visit the B&B again. The rooms are very spacious and the decor is done in perfection. I don't understand why anyone would have to take cabs to get breakfast...the Elmwood area is loaded with restaurants, cafes and shops.


"The Perfect Getaway!”    Reviewed by a Yahoo! contributor on 07/25/08.

My boyfriend and I spent a fantastic long weekend at the Honu House while attending a wedding in Buffalo. Our room was beautiful, spacious and decorated to make you feel that you were staying in a home...not a generic hotel. Our bathroom was splendid--clean, luxurious with both a tub and separate shower!

Karen provides guests with a little kitchenette of their own to share with other guests as well as a lovely morning breakfast. Karen is a great host and directed us to great eating and tourist spots within walking distance. We felt like we were staying with a family friend rather than a stranger. I would absolutely go back if Buffalo weren't so far!


"Incredible B&B."    Reviewed on BedAndBreakfast.com on 7/19/2008.

My son just bought a home down the block from this wonderful B&B. We stayed this past weekend and I must say it was the absolute best experience we have ever had at a B&B. Karen, the owner, was so delightful and passionate about her place. Her choice of decor and wonderful unique pieces that decorate this charming, cozy, place are exquisite.

Each morning we walked down the dramatic gorgeous staircase to fresh muffins or scones, the newspaper, and coffee or tea. The rooms were immaculate and tastefully decorated. The bed and pillows and sheets are dreamy. We stayed in the Master suite which was amazing!!!! THIS is the place to choose!!! Elmwood Village is also a terrific, lively place to visit. Thanks Karen. We will be back!!! Denise & Peter


"Thoroughly pleasant experience."    Reviewed on BedAndBreakfast.com on 7/13/2009.

My husband and I stayed at the Elmwood Village Inn for two nights on a July road trip through Buffalo, and both the city and the Inn were pleasant beyond our expectations. The Inn is furnished with great care and quality and respect for history/culture, like a living museum. Every piece of furniture or art is a delight for the eyes.

The public rooms felt both gracious and intelligent, laid out and furnished with a traveler's needs in mind. Our room (the one with the bathroom across the hall) was quite adequat e in size with a very comfortable bed; even though it faced the street we weren't bothered by street noise (but if we had, the Inn does offer earplugs).

The bathroom across the hall was huge, with both a shower stall and a deep, comfortable bathtub with a seemingly endless supply of hot water (providing a luxurious soak after hours of walking). The guest kitchenette on the second floor is thoughtfully furnished with, among other things, a small refrigerator, wineglasses and corkscrew, a teapot that heats with lightning speed, and a large selection of teas.

We met several very interesting people during our stay (truly one of the benefits of being at a B&B), and our hostess, Karen, was truly a gem: a great blend of being fun to talk with as well as knowing when to leave us alone. And, though we weren't so interested in Buffalo's major tourist attractions (named historic homes and galleries and such), we were within a 10-minute walk of everything we were looking for: great restaurants, a food co-op, the public library, an evening concert in the park, and my great- grandmother's old house.

This part of Buffalo was very diverse and fun to walk, and people were surprisingly friendly (when we stood on the sidewalk looking at our map, three different passersby stopped to offer help -- now THAT'S hospitality!). Should we come this way again, we would definitely return to Buffalo, and the Elmwood Village Inn/Honu House would most certainly be our B&B of choice.


"Sophisticated City Inn."   Reviewed on BedAndBreakfast.com on 5/15/2008.

"In the heart of a thriving city neighborhood in Buffalo, you can walk to Buffalo State College, the Burchfield Penney Arts Center, The Albright-Knox Art Gallery, the Lexington Real Foods Coop....

It's a great place to put up guests coming to town to get a sense of the city, which is authentic and urban. Lots of wonderful neighborhood and parkway walks and return to comfort and privacy."


Wooden figure.


Second-floor landing at the Elmwood Village
                      Inn.


Restored light fixture.


The
                      entryway to the Elmwood Village Inn.








Home    Entry Page    Accommodations    Reviews    Directions    Contact Us    On the Walls    Neighborhood    Site Map    Reservations & Availability

Copyright © 2005-2014 by Karen Powell. All rights reserved.